Character

I’ve been thinking a lot about the dojo kun. For those who don’t know what that is – it’s basically the dojo rules. It’s a list of things we are supposed to do. It’s funny, though, the dojo kun isn’t something that applies only to karate students. I pretty much think it’s a set of things for all humans.

Number one on the list is “To seek perfection of character”. Think about that one for a minute. Perfection of character. To be the best person you can be. Wow. Only for those walking in the shadow of karate? I don’t think so. We should all strive to be the best person we can be. Each day, be just a little bit better than we were the day before. One step at a time. One day at a time. Just like a student training. Interesting thought, huh?

What can I do today in my walk towards perfection of character? I ask myself that question every day. I don’t always find the answer. Most of the time it finds me.

What can you do today on your quest for ‘perfection of character’?

Leave a comment