Fueling the Fire

This has turned into an incredibly busy week between work, an upcoming conference and my son’s school schedule. Making time to train this week will be a challenge. Just when I was ready to throw in the towel and say it wasn’t going to happen my son came to me with a question.

“Can we stay after a few minutes so I can work on my katas? Will you help me?”

Honestly, how can I say no to that. Its my job as both his parent and an instructor to help fuel his passion for karate. Somehow, I need to rearrange things to make this happen. It’s important to him, which by default, makes it important to me. When your child can’t wait to get to the dojo the job is easy.

What happens when they don’t want to train? It’s you job to help encourage them and get them there on time. Don’t give in to their whims and laziness. Yes, I used the “L” word. Quite often, a child who doesn’t want to train is too lazy to put their gi on. We all have those days. Changing is more effort than we want to make.

Think about that for a moment. Changing is more effort than we want to make. Sometimes its not just changing our clothes that’s the problem. We don’t want to change. Period. Why do you think your child is any different than you? They have the same feelings and emotions, in a smaller, more compact package.

Get your child to the dojo. Don’t make excuses because you don’t want to do it. Lead by example. Your future adult will eventually thank you for it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. juliamakl
    Oct 25, 2017 @ 03:43:14

    Great read, I always try to lead by example for my daughter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

